bond of brothers

Throwback summer in November.

Back when we were youngsters, summer time is beach time as always. Being just a few hours away from any beaches of our province, given a geographical peninsula, spending two days at the most on a beach shore is more than enough to shake up a bit of family loving and bonding. I am happy with that thought, I will forever keep it.

Spending holidays at home was my top priority for the past couple of years and back in 2008, when my older brother, Nonoy, decided to make that sacrifice to make a living abroad in KSA, our brotherhood bonding then came to a temporary halt physically on celebrating the holidays. His contract ends every two years. However, his homecoming added to my priority too and we, the rest of his siblings always look forward to it, aside from his presents for us of course, [chuckling] that finally he could at least take a month off from homesickness, work, Arab food, and hot weather and just be home, with us and Mama. I think it was a common trait of us being brothers that we are so grounded at home, our comfort zone, maybe because of the extended family we all grew up in. Before our old folks’ house was always jam packed every holidays, having dinners, and just sharing the company of each other.

As days, months and years gone by, there have been changes. Like leaves falling off from the branch, it floats, touches the ground and dries while there are like boomerangs that spread across the vast space and return to its starting point and finally there are those that gone astray.

So, this second homecoming of his, he figured to make a plan on how to spend his month long vacation – to travel somewhere and that included the beach, islands and waves.

Image

It looks like rain. Then it pours. Just like a drizzle.

Image

While waiting for the cargo boat to sail off, Nonoy clicked his boredom away.

Image

Woke up at 3 a.m. just to catch the early bus ride headed for the port where this cargo boat was docked. At 6:30 a.m. my youngest bro, Emil and my cousin, Karen were still stewing, cast in early morning light.

Image

My other brother, Ralph fancied over the sight of the vast Pacific Ocean.

Image

2 hours of boat ride in the middle of blue waves. Blue is an overstatement.

Image

Copycat. I feel so sleepy, can’t miss the blue scenery for a catnap. Beat later.

Image

Maybe he’s talking funny. My older brother, Rod with his girlfriend, Sheng. Just being a couple there. Awww.

Image

Did I mention it is a 2 hour boat ride? Boredom strikes. Smiling for the camera with my cuz, Karen. (With my Sony digicam too.)

Image

Oh wait. Here’s how the Sabang port looks like. Such a quaint concrete dock. Okay let’s head on to Caramoan Islands, Philippines. Yey!

Image

While perched at the captain’s cabin, this bell caught my sight. For emergency purposes?

Image

Ah finally there’s land. I can jump and swim for the shore if. . . We’re just an hour away from the Guijalo Port.

Image

Couple making. .a photo review.

Image

Arrival shot at the dock ramp.

Image

Ate Sheng taking some shots of me. Nonoy thought he was being shot. .not! Hehe!

Image

Our tricycle driver. From the port at least 25 minutes joyride to our beach front accomodation.

Image

Beach front accomodation. Fully airconditioned. Fresh clean linens.

Image

Touch down on our first island. Ralph, according to Mom, is the most photogenic among the brood. Oh is that so?!

Image

We love the beach. The sea. The sand. The sun. I am happiest when I go to the beach. I want to take more photos of us brothers together.

Image

“The never perfect jump shot.”
-Daphne Osena-Paez

Image

Sand writing. “D” stands for Ralph’s nickname, Digz, while “L” is for his girlfriend.

Image

When the sun peeked, Emil made that jump. The family nicknamed him Small because he was the smallest among the brood when he was born but not anymore today.

Image

The best brother we could ever have. Nonoy felt anxious during our island hopping because rain clouds are evident and waves increased a bit but still we pushed through.

Image

I enjoyed this northern tip of the island, it was where the sand was finest.

Image

Both sides of this rock formations open to the sea. The sun is bright not shining. Rain clouds disperse the rays casting a glow light effect.

Image

Lush green. Behind those mountains, forests and beach shores were used as campsites for the Survivor series franchised by Israel, France, India among the countries I knew aside from the main Survivor USA. I like the reality show.

Image

Limestone islands are a sight. I am in awe. Most of the islets are like this. I am proud to be from CamSur where this tourist spot is found.

Image

Some parts of the islands are remote. You can arrange for a maximum of 3 days tour package spent on island hopping alone. I am not sure how many islands comprise the Caramoan Group of Islands. We visited four islands during that stay.

Image

It was breath taking. Maybe if there were no clouds, the water would look fine. On this spot, I was dreaming like I am at the scene from “The Beach” movie. Whew!

Image

See the waves, the sea isn’t that calm but safe enough for our outrigger boat. So we manage. I like adventure.

Image

My feet portrait. I wasn’t able to take a shot together with my brothers’.

Image

Seaweeds washed ashore. On this island, I felt queasy swimming because there’s a lot of seaweeds. Kind of itchy. Hehe! I had an experience with seaweeds before, I got a rash after making contact.

Image

Bond of brothers. I am lucky to have you as my brothers. All the love, my men!

Image

My bud. My bro. Thanks for the treat. Thank you. I’ll repay you some other time. =D

Image

Emil, our youngest is fond of fried fish and chips, any kind of chips. I am fond of him too because being the youngest, he’s sometimes sweet.

Image

My feet portrait again. Just because.

Image

Footprints. A lot of it. I wasn’t really taking so much photos that time, I wanted to enjoy my firsts on these islands. Besides, I don’t have my water proof camera case, I just slid my camera in a ziplock sandwich bag. I think I will come back here.

Image

We have four cameras tugged for this getaway. Imagine that, but due to the rain, the compact was not brought during the island hop, only the small ones. Ralph and I share the love for music, he’s more inclined though, he knows how to play guitar and he had been in a band.

Image

After dinner, all of them were busy on the laptop, tablet, and mobile phones, and photo review on all the cameras. I forgot to take a shot of our sumptuous dinner. Seafood galore.

Image

Dawn. I like the sea breeze at this time, it’s a mix of damp warm air.

Image

Tranquil.

Image

Partly clear blue sky. Muted light, magic hour effect perhaps.

Image

Playtime.

Image

The most awaited. It was a beautiful sunrise. Paradise.

Image

Good morning. Coffee? Karen is passionate about food. I love her. We can talk all day about food and its endless possibilities.

Image

Breakfast at the bar by the seashore. It was a hefty one. I have had enough.

Image

I liked the girl who served our breakfast. She took care of our needs and was very accommodating. I might have given her a best in customer service award.

Image

After breakfast, we have had a chance to go spelunking in some caves.

Image

I wondered if this one can be categorically called a cave, its entrance was quite a challenge for heavy built like us, because it was open and only covered with a canopy from the over growths of unknown trees and plants above.

Image

Now this one was really a cave, it was enclosed and its entrance was quite a challenge again. Stone formations preserved by time.

Image

I was elated to see this. Our guide confirmed that this was the remains of the wooden walkway from the tribal council area to the crew campsite, built by Survivor USA during the filming of its nth series.

Image

Old red brick church.

Image

The weather got better soon after we left the islands that’s why I have had a hard time leaving but I promised to be back.

Great memories again was etched on our hearts and minds. I am looking forward to more adventures with you my brothers.

2 comments

What do you think of this post? Let me know. Thanks.

